The J Word

2 Feb

We are almost done with probation.  I say “we” because of that fact that although Brett is the Firefighter, I am the Woman who must endure his stress, study time, and crazy schedule.  Although February 17th will not bring an end to bumps and hiccups, it will bring the certainty of a long career and dream long sought after. The past two weeks have brought additional shifts, study groups, manipulative tests, and many fire practical exams.   Translation: many days and hours without my man and lots of long hours with three kids five and under.  I’m not looking for a pat on the back here, many women endure the life of a Fire Wife, an Army Wife, as a Single Parent.  But, it is the reason I have been MIA.

Ultimately, being a wife and a mother are two of my primary roles so I know I have made the best choice prioritizing those jobs above writing.

Throughout this year of probation, I have been forced to look at each day as a gift, a blank canvas full of possibility.  And, in my life, each day includes three priorities:

(a) My relationship with Jesus; spending time with My Savior; gaining a fresh perspective; Daily Bread; sitting at the feel of Jesus
(b) Being a Wife; making my house a home for the man I love, the man who works  hard to provide for our family, in words and actions taking the time to love him more each day
(c) Being a Mom; allowing time for interruptions, being available, playing, listening, being patient, creating, teaching, loving

These priorities are my Purpose.  These priorities have  caused me to slow down, live intentionally, create, reflect, breathe, and ENJOY myself.

I love to write and I truly believe I have something to say.  But, I lack focus and direction.  My priorities offer a clear mission and the purpose of Mighty Sweet Mama, “to be a better woman, wife and mama,” is reflective of that mission.  But, what I’ve been missing is the number one factor: “Jesus.”

Jesus makes me a better Woman, Wife ,and Mother.  Period.

And…let it be known…My voice and thoughts about Jesus may be offensive to some.  Although I aim for propriety, I am 100% comfortable with the fact that the Lord gave me a heart for those who do not seek Him, which means I might offend of a couple of y’all on this journey.  Please forgive me.

That being said, there are a couple of things y’all should know about my relationship with Jesus…

Gladys Hardy Quote

Gladys Hardy Quote

Jesus Loves Me

Enjoy YOurself

Leave a Reply

