Inspiration on a Sunday Evening

30 Oct
Gift

The Mr.’s at the station.  I tucked the kids in bed and sat down to read.  You’d think after a long day I would welcome the peace and quiet but my mind was racing. All I can think about are the things I need to get ready for the week.  Tomorrow is Halloween.  We are hosting and I have loose ends to tie up.  Friday we leave for San Francisco.  I need to make a packing list and get the laundry underway.  In between tomorrow and our departure are the normal school, grocery shopping. cleaning, practice, etc…Brett works two of those days so I’d better figure out quick what I need to get accomplished while he is home.

I love having a Firefighter husband – don’t get me wrong.  I am blessed.  But, I have had to take my multitasking,  plan ahead scheduling to a whole new level.  Not in a control freak manner – just an escalated awareness.  I say that to make myself feel better.  Those of you who are fire wives I’m sure you understand.  So, rather than sit and read, I came back to play around on the computer.  Wouldn’t you know it – I found a quote on serving – AGAIN!

Lord, talk to me.  I have met this topic at every turn.  I pray my heart would be soft.  Shape me and mold me into a woman, wife, and mother who serves others, loving them as you do.  Lord, I pray my eyes would be open to see opportunities to serve others.  I pray I would not be so caught up in my schedule that I miss opportunities to bless others.  Interrupt me Lord; may I be available.  Thank you for chasing after me.

So, I went nuts on http://www.thinkexist.com/and just kept perusing.  I hope these thoughts bless you as they did me!

  • God told us, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” So first I am to love myself rightly, and then to love my neighbor like that. But how can I love myself unless I accept myself as God has made me?  –  Mother Theresa
  • Love the Lord your God with all your heart and soul and mind and love your neighbor as yourself.Jesus of Nazareth
  • Life’s most urgent question is: What are you doing for others? – Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • Only a life lived for others is worth living. – Albert Einstein
  • Only when we give joyfully, without hesitation or thought of gain, can we truly know what love means. – Leo Buscaglia
  • Love begins by taking care of the closest ones – the ones at home. – Mother Theresa
  • Smile at each other. Smile at your wife, smile at your husband, smile at your children, smile at each other – it doesn’t matter who it is – and that will help you to grow up in greater love for each other.  – Mother Theresa
  • So long as we love we serve; So long as we are loved by others, I would almost say that we are indispensable; And no one is useless while they have a friend.  – Robert Louis Stevenson
  • I hate discussions of feminism that end up with who does the dishes … at the end, there are always the damned dishes. – Marilyn French, The Women’s Room
  • Everybody can be great. Because anybody can serve. You don’t have to have a college degree to serve. You don’t have to make your subject and your verb agree to serve…. You only need a heart full of grace. A soul generated by love. – Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • It is not my aching back that prevents me from helping my neighbor any more than my choleric temperament. It’s my don’t-wanna-do-it attitude that does it. – Emily Carder
  • True heroism is remarkably sober, very undramatic. It is not the urge to surpass all others at whatever cost, but the urge to serve others at whatever the cost. – Arthur Ashe
Leave a Reply

